It’s a Small World After All

I recent was put into a new role at work. While it is only a minor component I am in charge of our Instagram and Facebook accounts and let’s just say this is not my favorite part of my job. However, that is not the point of this article. This article is about how EVERYTHING is connected.

As you may or may not know single person can have up to three accounts associated with a single Instagram application on their phone. So, naturally I linked the Putnam Market account with mine once I started my new position. I thought nothing of this at first. After a couple of days of posting to the Putnam Market account (you should all follow us) I started to notice that people that I knew in “real” life were starting to like Putnam posts and even following our page. This is not the strange part however, where is this story becomes interesting is where I know these people from. They were friends and acquaintances from California, three thousand miles away.

These people had no clue what or where Putnam Market is, but what they do know is me. These are folks that follow my own personal account. Because my account was now linked with Putnam’s on the same phone our posts were being recommended to my friends. While is great for increasing Putnam Market’s reach it has some scary implications.

It just reinforces the idea that nothing is private on the internet, and especially on social media. If you or your company is going to post on social media you must be one hundred percent comfortable with the ENTIRE world seeing it.

2 thoughts on “It’s a Small World After All

  1. Sam you are absolutely spot on – there is nothing private online. This is one primary reason why I don’t add my work colleagues on facebook and I make it a point that they cannot find me on facebook too. In fact as we discussed in class every action you take online is like leaving a bread crumb – it all depends on who uses these bread crumbs and for what.

    http://www.usatoday.com/story/travel/columnist/seaney/2013/04/30/airfare-expert-do-cookies-really-raise-airfares/2121981/

    Like

  2. This is interesting because my practice recently appointed me to create a Facebook as well. I hardly go on mine and the fact I would have to check multiple times to screen it is a concept I don’t want to entertain. Although it will be prudent for our practice to spread the world, I’m not so incline to expose myself this way….So, the question becomes, do you build a brand to focus on the bigger cause and sacrifice your privacy or just dive right in and realize this is the way brands are being built?……

    Like

Leave a comment